Q. Bringing a new puppy from out of state to FLorida - what rules/laws apply?

Bringing a new puppy from out of state to FLorida - what rules/laws apply?
Returning to Florida from Oregon by commercial airplane with a newly purchased puppy, to be my service dog in training. does the state of Florida require me to do anything before arrival? after arrival?

Answer

Your question has reached the State Library of Florida. While the State Library cannot provide legal advice or interpretation, we can help with sources of information.

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Animal Industry has a page on the requirements for moving dogs and cats into and out of Florida (https://www.freshfromflorida.com/Divisions-Offices/Animal-Industry/Agriculture-Industry/Cats-Dogs-and-Other-Pets/Dog-and-Cat-Movement-Requirements).

According to DACS, the two main requirements are: 

  • An Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (health certificate) issued within 30 days of entering the state.
  • Documentation of current rabies vaccine (if 3 months of age or older).

This page has more answers of FAQs about interstate pet travel (https://www.freshfromflorida.com/Divisions-Offices/Animal-Industry/Agriculture-Industry/Cats-Dogs-and-Other-Pets/Travel-of-Dogs-Cats-and-Pet-Birds-in-out-of-Florida-FAQ).

For more information/assistance, please call of State Veterinarian's Office at (850) 410-0900.

  • Last Updated Jun 15, 2018
  • Views 5
  • Answered By Josie (State Library of Florida)

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0   0